Sports stars celebrated at awards night

Published on Monday, 7 November 2022 at 8:00:14 AM

Port Hedland’s brightest and best sporting talent was celebrated at the 2022 Town of Port Hedland & BHP Community Sports Awards on Friday night.

The awards recognise the talent, ambition and contribution of individuals and groups from across Hedland.

Nominees were received from a broad range of sporting codes and the independent panel of judges had a tough time picking the winners.

Mayor Peter Carter congratulated the winners and nominees, acknowledging their outstanding achievements and dedication to their sports.

“Sport plays such an important role in small communities like Hedland, providing social connections as well as health and wellbeing outcomes,” Mayor Carter said.

“Congratulations to all the winners and nominees not only only your achievements but also the positive examples you provide as role models for your community.

“A huge thank-you also to all the volunteers who tirelessly and generously give their time to co-ordinate and run their sporting bodies and codes.

“Awards like these are not possible without the support of terrific sponsors like Presenting Partner BHP and award sponsors Horizon Power, ITOCHU Minerals & Energy of Australia Pty Ltd, Pilbara Ports Authority and Mammoet as well as supporter The Esplanade Hotel.”

Full list of award winners:
• Horizon Power Volunteer of the Year – Candice Jones
• Official/ Umpire of the Year – Nicholas Witham
• Mammoet Sportswoman of the Year – Stacey Smith
• Sportsman of the Year – Dylan Tarlinton
• Sporting Group of the Year – Port Hedland Touch Association
• Pilbara Ports Authority Service to Sport – Scott Gerhardt
• ITOCHU Junior Sportswoman – ­­­ Bethany Denney
• ITOCHU Junior Sportsman –  Mitchell Galby (joint winner)
• ITOCHU Junior Sportsman –  Sam Langford (joint winner)
• Coach of the Year – Michelle Cockie
• Judges Commendation Award – Shakira Levi

Back to All News